STATE-WIDE STATUS OF COMMUNITY POWER (1/26/24)

- 1. 20 New Hampshire communities are currently served by community power programs. 16 cities and towns launched their programs in May/June 2023. Dover and Cheshire County (on behalf of 3 of its towns) launched programs in October/November 2023. No community power programs operated in the state before 2023.
- 2. A total of 65 communities (the 17 that have already launched their own programs plus 48 others) have applied to PUC for approval of community power plans so far. 43 of the 65 communities have had their plans approved. 22 communities currently have applications pending at the PUC. Many communities have applied in January, hoping for approval before town meetings in March.
- 3. Including the communities above, a total of at least 125 New Hampshire cities and towns either are currently being served by or are pursuing or are considering community power programs. This is over half of the cities and towns in the state (New Hampshire has 234 cities and towns).
- 4. As far as we know, every community that is operating or moving toward community power is using an "opt-out" program as opposed to an "opt-in" program.
- 5. At least 52 cities and towns and Cheshire County and Merrimack County belong to the Community Power Coalition of New Hampshire. Details regarding communities working with the Coalition are as follows:
 - a. 16 of the 20 communities currently served by community power programs are working with the Coalition. They are:

Canterbury	Harrisville	Plainfield	*Dublin
Dover	Lebanon	Portsmouth	*Fitzwilliam
Enfield	Nashua	Rye	*Nelson
Exeter	Peterborough	Walpole	
Hanover		•	* - served by Cheshire
			County's program

b. 12 more communities working with the Coalition are expected to launch programs in March 2024. They are:

Durham	Stratham	*Chesterfield
Hudson	Warner	*Roxbury
New London	Webster	*Winchester
Newmarket	Westmoreland	
Pembroke		* - served by Cheshire
		County's program

c. Other Coalition members are listed below. As of this date, around 16 of them are expected to launch programs in June 2024 if they get town meeting and PUC approval.

Atkinson	Charlestown	Kensington	Somersworth
Barrington	Dalton	Lancaster	Springfield
Berlin	Epping	Loudon	Sugar Hill
Bethlehem	Franconia	Lyme	Tamworth
Boscawen	Gilford	Newport	Temple
Bradford	Grantham	Northfield	Wilmot
Bristol	Hampton Falls	Randolph	
Campton	Hopkinton	Shelburne	Merrimack County

d. Of 7 towns bordering Concord, 6 are Coalition members, 1 (Canterbury) has already launched its program, 2 (Pembroke and Webster) expect to launch programs in March, and 3

(Hopkinton, Boscawen and Loudon) expect to launch programs in June. The 7th town is Bow. Like Concord, Bow has made no decisions about which model to follow.

- e. Cheshire County launched its program initially serving 3 towns (Dublin, Fitzwilliam and Nelson). The County is expected to begin serving 3 more towns (Chesterfield, Roxbury and Winchester) in March. Gilsum has also indicated interest in having a program through the County. These 7 towns are not themselves Coalition members so are not included in the above Coalition member count. Including these communities, 59 cities and towns are served by or are members of the Coalition.
- f. Merrimack County has just become a member of the Coalition, with the intention of eventually providing community power to towns within its borders that want community power without the burden of setting up their own programs, like Cheshire County has done.
- g. Several communities in Coos County are working together on community power through the Androscoggin Valley Energy Collaborative and might pursue a combined program similar to Cheshire County, probably working with the Coalition.
- 6. At least 32 cities and towns (probably more) are using consultants/suppliers. Of these, 29 are working with Standard Power, and 3 are working with Colonial Power. Details regarding communities working with a consultant/supplier are as follows:
 - a. 4 of the 20 communities currently served by community power programs are working with Standard Power and are supplied by Direct Energy. They are:

Keene, Marlborough, Swanzey, Wilton

b. 3 Standard Power communities will launch their programs in March 2024 and will be served by First Point Power. They are:

Jaffrey, Milford, New Boston

c. Standard Power has said that many of the other communities that it serves may launch programs in the first half of 2024. Many of these communities need town meeting approval in March 2024 and/or PUC approval. These include:

Allenstown	Derry	Litchfield	Plaistow
Amherst	Dunbarton	Lyndeborough	Rollinsford
Bennington	Farmington	Newbury	Sanbornton
Brentwood	Greenfield	Pelham	Waterville Valley
Candia	Hillsborough	Pittsfield	Windham
Deerfield	Lee		

- d. Standard Power is working with at least four communities in Merrimack County (Allenstown, Dunbarton, Newbury, Pittsfield).
- e. 2 communities (Brentwood and Rollinsford) initially joined the Coalition but are proceeding with Standard Power as consultant/broker and have withdrawn from the Coalition.
- f. We do not know the launch timeframes of the communities working with Colonial Power (Hampton, Lincoln, North Hampton), but there is no indication that they will launch soon.
- 7. Putting all of the Coalition and Standard Power communities together, between 40 and 50 additional communities may launch programs between now and the end of June 2024.
- 8. About a third of the cities or towns (including Manchester) are considering community power but have not yet committed to either the Coalition or consultant/supplier model. Some of these cities or towns have appointed community power/electric aggregation committees, indicating that they are seriously considering community power, but some communities that are considering community power might eventually decide not to pursue it.